Little Cartons of Milk

When I think about the lunches I use to get in elementary school, I remember a few things. I remember buying a blue punch card. Each card was worth 5 meals and I could use it whenever I wanted. Every time I ordered a meal, the card was punched and when the card was filled of course, it was time to get a new card. That way, when I looked on the lunch menu before leaving for school each morning, I could decide if it was a day I would be bringing or buying my lunch.

School lunches weren’t bad, it depended on menu of course, but I think that’s pretty much the scenario for any public school cafeteria. Pizza was always a popular day for everyone of course, and days like corndog day, not so much. I do remember something perfectly happy about buying my lunch, and that was those little cartoons of milk. They were just SO stinking cute! Typically kids needed help opening them, but once open it was all smiles and if you happened to get a straw well that was splendid! The school provided two kinds of milk. Plain and chocolate. And it was always nice when you were able to get the chocolate milk. Those always went first, everyone LOVED the chocolate milk, and who wouldn’t? But, if your class was last to go to lunch that day and you were in the back of the line, chances are you wouldn’t get the chocolate milk and would have to settle for plain milk. Sigh

Regardless if you were a plain milk kid or a chocolate milk kid, most children would savor their milk as much as possible. Somehow the mere 8 ounces of milk in the little cartons just didn’t seem enough and we’d do our very best to get every last drop. But anyway, little milk cartons are adorable!

About rachelamb

#lovemuch. #lovelong #lovehard
This entry was posted in love it, Random, smile and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment